Visit to Linderud Manor House
September 26 at 11:15
The Special Events Committee has great pleasure in inviting you to join us on a visit to Linderud Manor House (Linderud gård). This beautiful building in the east of Oslo is rightly called the pearl of Groruddalen (the Grorud valley). Its history goes back to the Middle Ages when it belonged to the Church and the Crown.
Mogens Lauritson bought the property in 1679. His son, Erich Mogenssøn, built the main building in 1713, and it was owned by the Monsen-Mathiesen family, who also owned Eidsvoll verk and other properties, for over 300 years. When Minister of Agriculture Christian Pierre Mathiesen (1903 –1904) died in 1953, the building became protected. Jørgen Mathiesen and his wife, Cecilie, were the last of the family to live in the house, and they did a lot of restoration work in the latter half of the 20thcentury. Since 2007, it has been part of the Museums in Akershus.
Linderud gård houses a wonderful collection of art works and furniture: The Mathiesen Collection (De Mathiesenske Samlinger). The estate also boasts one of Norway’s best preserved historical gardens with elements from the Renaissance, the Baroque period, the tradition of English landscapes and functionalism.
We will enjoy a guided tour of this lovely Manor House. Afterwards, we may wander round outside and admire the beautiful garden.
Linderud gård is situated right beside Linderud Centre. In fact, this shopping centre was built on the grounds of the farm’s barn.
|DATE/TIME:||Tuesday, September 26 at 11:15 (for 11:30). Please be on time.|
|SIGN UP:||To Rosemary Hauge by email: email@example.com, no later than September 18. Please sign up but pay only afteryou have received confirmation.|